Verdantix EHS Innovation Excellence Awards EMEA 2024

Celebrating Excellence in EHS, Sustainability & Operational Performance

The Verdantix EHS Innovation Excellence Awards EMEA proudly recognises the remarkable achievements of individuals and organisations in advancing EHS, Sustainability, and Operational Excellence across Europe.

Join Us in Celebrating Excellence

At the heart of the Verdantix EHS Innovation Excellence Awards EMEA lies a commitment to honouring those who have demonstrated exceptional innovation and leadership. Through innovative strategies, technologies, and projects, these pioneers have not only transformed their organisations but have also paved the way for industry-wide progress.

Verdantix Awards Hero Image

Award Categories & Finalists


EHS Compliance Digitization Award


EcoOnline & Hitachi Rail
EcoPortal & Nexus Logistics
Engro Fertilizer & DSS92


Environmental Impact, ESG Metrics & Reporting Award


Grunenthal GMbH
Sphera & JSW Steel
Benchmark Gensuite & Caldic


Operational Risk Management Award


Wolters Kluwer Enablon & Yara International
VelocityEHS & Boston Scientific


Safety Performance Improvement Award


Cority & GFG Alliance
Rombit & Infrabel
British American Tobacco
DNV & Babcock


Supplier Assurance & Contractor Risk Award


Confirming Finalists


Worker Wellness & Occupational Health Award


Chemrade & Volandis & Wij Techniek
Omni Group

Deadline for nominations is 22nd April 2024

Finalists will be informed by 2nd May 2024

Winners will be announced on 4th June 2024

In addition to the organizations who have invested in innovative projects, the awards will highlight the contribution of supporting technology and consulting firms.

The judging panel will be chaired by Verdantix CEO David Metcalfe and four independent experts. No projects associated with members of the judging panel or their organizations will be accepted as nominations. Judges are:

David Revitt , Director, EHS & Sustainability, Vertex Pharmaceuticals (Europe)

Isidora Heredia, Chief Sustainability and HSE Officer, Parques Reunidos Group

Marieke Bleyenbergh, Global Director Health, Safety, Environment & Security, AkzoNobel

Weili Zang, Global Head of Sustainability Audit & Systems, Vitesco Technologies

Entrants need to complete a survey detailing their project and submit their entry by 22nd April 2024. Finalists will be informed by 2nd May 2024. The question form can be viewed here.

Winners will be announced on 4th June 2024 during the Sustainability & EHS Summit Europe 2024 in Amsterdam.

The EHS innovation project you are nominating must be fully operational and must be able to demonstrate real improvements.

Any project that began in 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023 or 2024 is eligible.

The Verdantix EHS Innovation Awards Europe 2024 are only for projects that have been conducted primarily in Europe (we are also accepting nominations for projects conducted in the Middle East and/or Africa). Global projects led by teams based in these regions can be included. We will judge the winners based on the projects’ objectives and scope, the challenges entrants overcame to achieve their aims, the scale of the benefits relative to the scale of the organization, and how impressive a project is relative to comparable initiatives submitted in the same category.

We may reclassify entries into different industry categories if another category is a more appropriate fit, given your business activities. Vendors of technology, software and consulting services can submit applications based on the work they have done with their customers, but the vendors are responsible for obtaining the necessary permissions to submit those entries. In these cases, the Awards will mention both the customer and the vendor as Award winners. Any vendor communications must reference the Award as follows: “Through its successful project for CUSTOMER, VENDOR received a Verdantix Climate Innovation Award.”

We will award at most one winner in each industry category, plus finalists if there are other outstanding entries besides the winner. If there are no noteworthy entries in an industry category, we will not present an award in that category.

All winners will be announced on 4th June 2024 at the Verdantix Sustainability & EHS Summit Europe 2024 Summit. Winners will be featured in Verdantix blogs and in a press release following the Verdantix Summit. They will also receive an award winner icon to use in marketing communications. The content of all entries is provided by entrants on the record and can be quoted in Verdantix research, referenced at the Verdantix Summit and used in other Verdantix materials. All entry submissions will be posted on the Verdantix Climate Innovation Awards page on the Summit website, following review by the moderator.

We will not accept entries that we think are inappropriate, including those containing obscenity or copyright violations.

There is no fee to participate.


  • How do I enter?
    Entries must be summitted using the online form, which you can access here.
  • What is the deadline for entry?
    The deadline for submissions is 22nd April 2024.
  • My project was conducted globally, can I still enter?
    Any appropriate project conducted in Europe is eligible for entry (we are also accepting nominations for projects conducted in the Middle East and/or Africa). Global projects led by teams in these regions are also eligible.
  • Do you have examples of winning entries?
    Winning entries are those that demonstrate real innovative thinking and tangible benefits. We encourage the inclusion of project details relating to the challenge, solution and results achieved.

    View a winner case study here.
  • How many words should I write?
    We encourage succinct entries, which clearly demonstrate the project’s challenge, benefits and achievements, along with other information that will provide further understanding to the judges. Bullet points are acceptable.
  • Can I submit more than one entry?
    We advise against entering for more than one award. When selecting finalists, the judges will limit selection to one entry per corporate company or technology vendor.
  • When are the awards held?
    The awards will be held on the 4th June 2024, as part of the Verdantix Sustainability & EHS Summit Europe 2024 Summit, which you can register to attend here.
  • Can I attend the awards ceremony?
    Attendance at the awards ceremony is included with all tickets for the Verdantix Sustainability & EHS Summit Europe 2024 Summit. Register for your ticket ticket here. Table sponsorships are also available; please contact [email protected] for more information.
  • I’m a technology vendor or services provider, am I allowed to enter?
    The winner of the award is the corporation or person using the technology. Technology vendors and services providers may enter on behalf of the corporation using the technology.
  • Is there a fee for entry?
    Entry to the awards is free.
  • Who judges the awards?
    The awards are judged by our independent panel of judges, chaired by David Metcalfe, CEO, Verdantix.


Download the guidelines for entry below.

Guidance document

Submit your nomination

Nominations are now closed

There is no fee to participate. Please reach out to Layla Sienne [email protected] for any questions. Please refer to the rules & guidelines before submitting your nomination.

Get Involved

To sponsor a table, or to find out how you can be involved on the night, email [email protected]